Elected Officials

Washington Township, like other townships throughout the state, has four elected officials: Three Trustees and a Fiscal Officer. Each official serves a four-year term of office and is elected by voters in both the unincorporated and the incorporated (City of Centerville) portions of Washington Township. The following elected officials represent the residents of Washington Township:

Trustee President

Scott Paulson was elected to the Board of Trustees in November of 2009. He has served on the Washington Township Zoning Commission and is an active community volunteer. A partner with Advanced Engineering Solutions, Inc., he serves as vice president of sales for the firm and oversees the company’s expansion into new markets. His community involvement has included service on the Associate Board of the Dayton Art Institute, fundraising activities with the Leukemia Lymphoma Society, and membership on several community boards. Scott lives in Washington Township with his family. 
Email Scott: spaulson@washingtontwp.org

Trustee Vice President

Dale Berry, a resident since 1973, was appointed to the board in January 2009 and elected in November 2009. He previously has served on the township’s Zoning Commission and assisted with volunteer projects for the Visual Improvement Program Committee. A Realtor and retired vocational coordinator with Kettering City Schools, Berry is a past president of the Dayton Area Board of Realtors and served as its representative to the Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission. He has been a member of the Dayton Fair Housing Center, the Legislative Steering Committee for the Ohio Association of Realtors, the Montgomery County Auditor’s forum on tax evaluations, and director of the National Association of Realtors. He has two children and four grandchildren. 
Email Dale: dberry@washingtontwp.org


Joyce Young, a township resident for more than 50 years, is known for her community activism and leadership on many civic boards, including the Boonshoft Museum of Discovery, Human Race Theatre Board, Montgomery County Family and Children First Council, Montgomery County Human Services Levy Council and the Brighter Tomorrow Board of Directors. Joyce retired in 2009 as past chair of the Ohio Rehabilitation Services Commission, a state-wide agency that partners with individuals who have disabilities. She has earned the Ohio Township Association Leadership Academy award, the Katharine Kennedy Brown Award from the Junior League, and the Centerville Women's Civic Club Award. A trustee since 1995, she served as co-chair of the Create the Vision committee that helped write Centerville/Washington Township’s Community Plan. She has four daughters and four grandchildren. 
Email Joyce: jyoung@washingtontwp.org

Fiscal Officer

Tom Zobrist brings over 40 years of management experience to the Fiscal Officer post, which he has held since April 2004. As a former co-owner of Bell Optical Laboratory -- a family business with five labs in Ohio and surrounding states -- his responsibilities included cash flow management, computer systems, inventory, sales and marketing. He is a member of the Montgomery County Emergency Response Council and Community Development Block Grant Committee and a past president of the Montgomery County Township Association. A township resident for more than 30 years, he co-chaired the implementation task force for the Create the Vision Community Plan. He and his wife, Patty, a Zoning Commission member, have two sons and four grandchildren.
Email Tom: tzobrist@washingtontwp.org


Calendar of Events


What's Happening Soon?

  • Washington Township Trustee Meeting

    December 18, 2017 - Read More

  • Contact Us

  • We're Hiring

  • FAQ