Washington TownshipMontgomery County, Ohio

Zoning Commission Seat

Zoning Commission Seat is Available
Posted on 12/01/2018

Zoning Commission Seat is Open

Washington Township residents who want to get involved in local government are invited to apply for an open seat on the township’s five-member Zoning Commission.

Commission members are appointed by Washington Township Trustees who are looking for a diversity of backgrounds and previous successful volunteer experience.

The Zoning Commission is charged by the State of Ohio with making recommendations on land use to the Washington Township Board of Trustees. The commission recommends changes to the township zoning map and Zoning Resolution, the legal document that controls and coordinates land use in the township’s unincorporated area, and makes recommendations on final development plans for construction in Planned Development Districts.

Zoning Commission members serve five-year, staggered terms. Residents of unincorporated Washington Township who are interested in applying should submit a letter of interest that includes relevant past professional and volunteer experience. The deadline for first consideration is Friday, January 4, however the position will remain open until filled. Letters may be sent to Township Administrator Jesse Lightle at: jesse.lightle@washingtontwp.org or Washington Township Government Center, 8200 McEwen Rd., Dayton, Ohio 45458. For information, contact Development Director Ryan Lee at 433-0152.