Elected Officials

Washington Township, like other townships throughout the state, has four elected officials: Three Trustees and a Fiscal Officer. Each official serves a four-year term of office and is elected by voters in both the unincorporated and the incorporated (City of Centerville) portions of Washington Township. The following elected officials represent the residents of Washington Township: 

Trustee President  

Scott Paulson was elected to the Board of Trustees in November of 2009. He has served on the Washington Township Zoning Commission and is active in the communityscott paulson. Scott and his wife, Erica, own and operate Nurture, a prenatal wellness center. Scott is also an engineering consultant for local businesses. His community involvement has included the Associate Board of the Dayton Art Institute, the Montgomery County Land Bank Board of Directors, and fundraising activities with the Leukemia Lymphoma Society. Scott lives in Washington Township with his family.

Email Scott Paulson 

Trustee Vice President

Sharon Lowry, who began her first term in 2018, has experience as an educator, administrator, small business owner and community volunteer. She is chairperson of thesharon lowry Centerville Women’s Civic Club Scholarship Committee and a member of the board for Sophie’s Companions for Veterans. A former assistant superintendent of Great Oaks JVS, Lowry also has served on boards for Ronald McDonald House Charities of Dayton and the Boonshoft Museum of Discovery. For two years, she co-chaired the Nike Dayton Open at the Golf Club at Yankee Trace. A past member of Optimist International and Rotary International, she holds a Master of Education degree from Wright State University.

Email Sharon Lowry  


A local business owner and involved community volunteer, Brian served on the Township's Zoning CommissionBrian Lunne for five years before running for election for Township Trustee. Elected to the board in 2023, Brian's involvement in zoning and development decisions and the thoughtful conversations he has had with residents, business owners, and Township staff contributed to his desire to represent Township residents as a Trustee. 

Email Brian Lunne 

Fiscal Officer

Gary Smiga, who took office in April 2018, served Centerville City Schools for 36 years, including four years asGary Smiga superintendent from 2005 to 2009. Following his retirement, he  spent seven years directing nonprofits for the Dayton Foundation, including seven as director of the Montgomery County Ohio College Promise Program and two as executive director of College Promise and the Dayton-Montgomery County Scholarship Program. A 37-year member of Centerville Noon Optimist Club, Gary is a past president and served nine years as treasurer. His other volunteer involvement includes membership on the financial advisory board of Washington-Centerville Public Library, BOGG Ministries, and SouthBrook Christian Church.  A resident of Centerville/Washington Township for over 45 years, Gary and his wife, Pam, have four grown children and five grandchildren.

Email Gary Smiga