officials at podium

Washington Township provides vital local services through its fire, police, public works, development services and recreation departments.

All of Washington Township – including residents and businesses located in the incorporated portion of the township – benefit from township fire, emergency medical and recreation services. Those in the unincorporated area also receive services through the township's public works, police and development services departments.

Township government has many advantages: It is a simple, grass roots form of government that relies mostly on property tax and that allows voters to exercise considerable control over expenditures through tax levies.

Officials and Administration

Washington Township is governed by four elected officials – three trustees and a fiscal officer, each elected to a four-year term. All are elected by residents from both the incorporated and unincorporated areas of the township. Although their offices are consider part time, they always are read to meet their responsibilities and, in practice, contribute many hours to serve their constituents.

A full-time Township Administrator oversees day-to-day operations for the governmental organization, including seven department heads who oversee township departments. Township facilities include: the Government Center, Public Works/Police Services building and Fire headquarters on McEwen Road; a recreation complex on Miamisburg-Centerville Road; Town Hall in downtown Centerville; and five fire stations strategically located throughout the entire township.

Our Mission

  • To provide for and promote the general health, safety and welfare of township residents and employees

  • To create an environment focused on building for the future

Limited Self Government

Washington Township is a "home rule" township, meaning that residents have adopted Limited Self-Government giving township trustees the ability to enact resolutions, similar to city ordinances, provided they do not conflict with state laws or a list of specified exceptions.

With Limited Self-Government a township can continue to benefit from services – such as county road maintenance, state highway maintenance and county building inspection – and also enjoy the greater independence and self determination that prior to 1991 was granted only to cities. Ohio law requires that Limited Self-Government townships hire a full- or part-time law director. Washington Township's director is paid by a contractual arrangement.

A Bit of History

When township government was created in 1785, it was based on the needs of a primarily rural citizenry. As a result, a township's authority was limited to those powers specifically granted by the state. With the advent of modern, urban communities, the needs and desires of residents changed. Demands for increased or different services have prompted the state legislature to grant Ohio's 1,311 townships the authority to fulfill these changing demands.